Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

CD wing dimension and coordinates. 29 Aug 2014 20:20 #829

Hello, i am studying the wing of the Carbon Dragon. It's very difficult to get true dimensions of the wing. The builder's manual give 61.2" at the root and 22.5" at the tip, but that does'nt match with plans. By reading forum, i obtain 60" at the root and 22" at the tip. Finally, by measuring plans, i have 59.88" at rib 1 ( not exactly root ) and 21.75" at the tip.
I have a CNC to cut foam and i need good set of coordinates. I found two sets in the forum, unfortunetly they are not accurate enough. I have used QCAD to draw ribs to get coordinates.
Here are my drawings for the set of ribs ( you can compare with the plans ). If it is suitable, you can print on A2 or A3 size printer for scale 1 ribs templates.
Are the dimensions good ?
Austin.

Edit : see below for revision of the drawing.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Bertrand Botrel.

CD wing dimension and coordinates. 30 Aug 2014 10:24 #830

Hi Bertrand,

Welcome to the group! Careful study of the plans will reveal a number of minor discrepancies, most of which are documented somewhere in the documents on this site. The one that fools most people is where the plans specify 8mm plywood in various places... which is in fact supposed to read 0.8mm (1/32") ply!

As for the wing dimensions, Stick to 60" at the root and 22" at the tip. You can find an analysis of the wing dimensions, loads and stresses in my spreadsheet here: www.ihpa.ie/carbon-dragon/index.php/cd-b...wing-stress-analysis.

Roger Hardie in South Africa is also starting work on analyzing the drawings and has produced a set of CAD drawings which might be of use. If he doesn't respond to this post, you can contact him through the list of registered users (Main Menu - Login - Registered Users).